Welcome! Thursday, June 27, 2019 | Login | Register

Awards Ceremony Highlights ICC Convocation

Comment     Print
Related Articles

Eleven Isothermal Community College staff and faculty members were recognized recently for making outstanding contributions to the institution's learning environment.

The Golden Apple Awards, given since 2006, were developed by Isothermal's Learning Strategies Taskforce as a way to recognize college employees who "dedicate their time and talents to create a college environment where learning can flourish."

The Golden Apple winners were Tim Beam, Leeann Cline-Burris, Barbara Callahan, Lisa Courtney, Greg Dobbins, Sarah Kilgo, Kelly Lovelace, Corey Lowery, Chuck MaGee, Kaitlin Mitchell and Dee Spurlin.

In addition to the Golden Apples, the annual Tanner Awards for Excellence and the Willard L. Lewis Staff Award were given.

The Tanner Awards were presented to Tim Beam and Sarah Kilgo.

The Tanner family has been involved with Isothermal since the college's beginning. S.B. Tanner, Sr., was one of the early supporters of the effort to create the college. His son, the late Jimmy Tanner, was named to Isothermal's first Board of Trustees in 1964. He continued to serve as a trustee until 2007, distinguishing himself as the longest serving member in the history of that body.

The Lewis Award was presented to Jo James, coordinator of technology-enhanced learning.

That award is named for Dr. Willard L. Lewis, the college's former president, who placed a great emphasis on the importance staff plays in Isothermal's mission to "improve life through learning."

James has been a devoted employee of Isothermal Community College since 2000. She was described by co-workers as one who has an innate desire and ability to lead, mentor, and consistently seek new and innovative learning opportunities.

"Many people across campus seek her advice, input, and involvement on various matters," said Stephen Matheny, vice president of Administrative Services, as he presented the Lewis Awardward. "The work she produces is always exceptional, practical, and works toward fostering and promoting the learning college concept. As a result of her prior experience serving the college as a Business Sciences instructor for 14 years, she is able to view the institution, it"s employees, and most importantly, its students from multiple perspectives.

Pell Tanner was on hand to present the Tanner Awards with VP Thad Harrill while the Golden Apples were given by Dr. Dolly Horton, Isothermal's vice president of Academic and Student Services.

The Golden Apple Award Committee made the selections on criteria including the exhibition of a commitment to excellence; the nurturing of a climate of integrity, care, and respect for individuals; demonstration of initiative to resolve problems or improve processes that benefit the college; demonstration of a cooperative spirit and willingness to help others that exceeds job expectations; and serving as an inspiration to others.

Read more from:
Latest News
Comment      Print

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: